$100,000 for Grab for 2018 TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize for Scientists from Developing World

The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science (TWAS) and Lenovo are offering the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which is intended to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by individual scientists in developing countries. It carries a reward of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100, 000.00).

Lenovo is a US$45 billion global Fortune 500 company and a leader in providing innovative consumer, commercial, and enterprise technology. Its portfolio of high-quality, secure products and services covers PCs (including the legendary Think and multimode YOGA brands), workstations, servers, storage, smart TVs and a family of mobile products like smartphones (including the Motorola brand), tablets and apps.

The rapid growth Lenovo has recently experienced in emerging markets has prompted the company to partner with TWAS to launch a high-level prize to give international recognition and visibility to individual scientists in the developing world for their outstanding scientific achievements.

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize Eligibility.

Candidates must be nationals of a developing country and must have lived and worked in a developing country for the last 10 years. The prize will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries. Jury members and previous winners of the Trieste Science Prize (also administered by TWAS) are not eligible for the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize Award.

The TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize will carry a monetary award of USD100,000 provided by Lenovo, as well as a medal and a certificate highlighting the recipient’s major contributions to science. The prize will be presented to the recipient at a special ceremony arranged by TWAS.

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize Fields.

During the first four-year cycle (2013-2016), the prize subject focused on the basic sciences, with the specific subject area changing each year: physics and astronomy (2013), biological sciences (2014), mathematics (2015) and chemical sciences (2016). During the second four-year cycle (2017-2020) the prize subjects will be: Geological Sciences (2017), Engineering Sciences (2018), Agricultural Sciences (2019), Social Sciences (2020).

For the 2018 edition of the prize, TWAS will consider candidates with world-class achievements in Engineering Sciences.

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize Nominations.

Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged. Self-nominations and nominations from jury members will not be accepted.

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize Evaluation.

The evaluation and selection will be carried out by an authoritative international jury chaired by the TWAS president and including a representative from Lenovo.

How to Enter TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.

Nominations for the 2018 prize should reach the TWAS Secretariat by 16 April 2018 at:

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize
TWAS Secretariat
ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste, Italy
Telephone: +39 040 2240387
E-mail: prizes@twas.org

Official Link

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.